Contact KU School of Music


The University of Kansas
School of Music

Murphy Hall 
1530 Naismith Drive, Room 460
Lawrence, KS 66045-3103
Email: music@ku.edu
Fax: 785-864-5387
Phone: 785-864-3436


Contact by division:

Band

KU Bands
124 Murphy Hall
The University of Kansas
Lawrence, KS 66045-3103
Fax: (785) 864-4717​          
Phone: (785) 864-3367
kuband@ku.edu

Midwestern Music Camp
124 Murphy Hall
The University of Kansas
Lawrence, KS 66045-3103
Fax: (785) 864-4717
Phone: (785)864-3367 
musiccamp@ku.edu
www.musiccamp.ku.edu
 

Brass & Percussion

Michael Davidson, Division Director

320 Murphy Hall
1530 Naismith Dr.
Lawrence, Kansas 66045-3103
785-864-9699 
mdavidsn@ku.edu

Choral

Paul Tucker, Division Director

336 Murphy Hall
1530 Naismith Dr.
Lawrence, KS 66045-3103
785-864-9739
ptucker@ku.edu

Jazz

Dan Gailey, Director of Jazz Studies

122 Murphy Hall
1530 Naismith Dr.
Lawrence, KS 66045-3103
785-864-4389
dgailey@ku.edu

Music Education & Music Therapy

The University of Kansas Division of Music Education and Music Therapy

Murphy Hall
1530 Naismith Drive, Room 448
Lawrence, KS 66045-3103

Email: memt@ku.edu
Fax: 785-864-5866
Phone: 785-864-4784
http://memt.ku.edu

Christopher Johnson, MEMT Division Director

448 Murphy Hall
1530 Naismith Drive
Lawrence, KS 66045-3103
785-864-9633
cmj@ku.edu

Music Theory & Music Composition

Bryan "Kip" Haaheim, Division Director

424 Murphy Hall
1530 Naismith Dr.
Lawrence, KS 66045-3103
785-864-9743
khaaheim@ku.edu

Musicology

Paul Laird, Division Director
334 Murphy Hall
1530 Naismith Dr.
Lawrence, Kansas 66045-3103
785-864-9716 
plaird@ku.edu

Orchestra

126 Murphy Hall
1530 Naismith Dr.
Lawrence, Kansas 66045-3103
785-864-3421
music@ku.edu

Organ & Church Music

James Higdon, Division Director

Bales Recital Hall
1600 Stewart Dr.
Lawrence, Kansas 66045-7597
785-864-2797
jhigdon@ku.edu

Piano

Jack Winerock, Division Director
308 Murphy Hall
1530 Naismith Dr.
Lawrence, Kansas 66045-3103
785-864-9644 
winerock@ku.edu

Strings

Véronique Mathieu, Division Director
422 Murphy Hall
1530 Naismith Dr.
Lawrence, Kansas 66045-3103
785-864-9757
vmathieu@ku.edu

Voice & Opera

Julia Broxholm, Division Director
414 Murphy Hall
1530 Naismith Dr.
Lawrence, Kansas 66045-3103
785-864-9447
jbroxhol@ku.edu

Woodwinds

Margaret Marco, Division Director
340 Murphy Hall
1530 Naismith Dr.
Lawrence, Kansas 66045-3103
785-864-9719 
mmarco@ku.edu

School of Music Events
KU Today
Music students present hundreds of public concerts every year
Students perform in KU choirs, concert bands, pep bands, ensembles, symphony orchestra, and jazz combos
The school owns one of the greatest jazz record collections in the world
KU Wind Ensemble performed the world premiere of the symphony "In the Shadow of No Towers" at Carnegie Hall
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
—ALA

Friends of the School of Music